top of page

Crisper Stew

Winter is well and truly here, it's dark in the morning when I walk Shovey and dark when I drive home. We all need a little bit of comfort at this time of year so out comes the comfort food.

Comfort food doesn't need to be expensive or fiddly, I have a beautiful slow cooker that was a gift from a darling friend. It is a little vintage National and is perfect for a small family.

Isn't it darling? Inside today is my Crisper Stew, simply called this because it is made from whatever is lurking in your crisper, or in my case my Tupperware Fridgesmarts!

Simply fill to the brim with chopped veggies, potatoes, zucchini, carrots - whatever! Then add 2 cups of stock and lots of garlic, at least six cloves - I firmly believe garlic will keep away the common cold! I try to add pumpkin when I can as it adds a lovely richness to the sauce, I like to leave mine on low whilst I'm at work but 4 hours on high will do the trick, you are looking for soft veggies.

This is an excellent base and I would recommend cooking two batches and freezing the second, it is great on it's own or you can add some cooked sausages, chicken or pasta for a bulkier meal. Enjoy!

Mrs Roberts. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
bottom of page