top of page

Practically a garden gnome

We have bought a 1/4 acre block, it seemed like the greatest idea of all when we went there. Over twice the size of our last house block and four times the size of our first! We just walked around looking at all the space.

Now we have been into our house for a good 6 months and we have so many projects on the go it is frankly a little exhausting. We're digging trenches for drainage, dragging out old dead trees, putting in retaining walls and trying to restore some order to the over-grown haphazard garden beds.

Last Sunday Husband attacked the hedges with gusto! His new Black & Decker hedger was going like the wind! I was too small and a little overwhelmed by it so I ran around collecting all the branches and mulching them.

Husband is very safety concious so I was kitted up with googles, ear muffs, gloves and even FLAT closed in shoes! What!? Who am I?! The mulcher scared me a bit a first but by the end of the day I was removing jammed up palm leaves like I had two green thumbs.

As you can see I had my rattiest old clothes on because let's face it - this is not House Rules, I am not going to get a deal with Myers because I look good whilst completing yard work.

What's that giant pile of dead trees behind me you ask? Why that is all the trees that are too big for our yellow mulcher! Once all the dead trees are out we have to get in the BIG one from Kennards Hire. Just the thought of it exhausts me.

6 hours later and the hedges were trimmed, we had mulched all the branches and laid them around the garden beds. In the end we had enough mulch for only three small garden beds so I have a lot of mulching ahead of me.

By the end of the day I was exhausted, we sat poolside, ate some Dorito's, I drank some wine and we pulled out each others splinters, have you ever heard anything so romantic? Don't worry, it got a lot better, Husband offered take me to dinner! YES PLEASE!!!

Best bit was we went to the local for a fab surf and turf so I didn't even need to get all dressed up. Well I still changed out of my old tiger top and joggers!

NOM.


Mrs Roberts. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
bottom of page