top of page

Rapid Roast

The ultimate comfort food for me is a roast, it symbolises special occasions, guests, friends and family. I love them all, chicken, pork, beef and my fav Nevada Park Lamb. I try to cook a roast once a week however the increased traffic means I am cooking quicker dinners.

I do have a bit of a rapid roast that I can whip up when I have a good hour to cook dinner. Roast Turkey Legs. Unless we have guests we just can't do a whole turkey and I've found the legs often have the most flavour, with a bit of careful prep they can be moist and juicy.

I don't really have a recipe for you, I'm a bit free and loose when it comes to these roasts but I will try.

Ingredients

2x turkey legs

3 potatoes

1 sweet potato

1/2 bulb of garlic

1 lemon

1 tsp mixed herbs

60gm butter

Good dash of oil

Salt & pepper

Method

Turn your oven to 200c, pop your pan in there so it gets nice and hot. I adore the Scanpan roasting pan, one of my most used wedding gifts.

Peel your sweet potato and chop, take your potatoes and chop them too. I had nice reds so I left the skin on. Peel your garlic.

Rinse off your legs and pop them aside. In a small bowl combine your butter, herbs and the grated rind of your lemon.

Wiggle your finger between the flesh and skin of your turkey legs, this will make a little pocket. Then pack in your butter mix, spread any that escapes over the legs giving them a good rub.

Place everything in your roasting pan, veg, garlic and legs. Glug over some good oil and cut your lemon in half, chuck that in there too.

Roast at 200c for about 20 minutes then turn down and roast at 160c for 40 minutes. This does vary on how many veggies you have in the tray, your oven and the size of the turkey legs. You will know your legs are done when you make a small incision and the juices run clear. To serve just gently pull the meat from the bone. I often cook up something green for a bit of freshness then drown the lot in pan gravy.

Nom!


Mrs Roberts. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
bottom of page