top of page

Daddy's Girl

I was born on a Thursday, at about 6:30am. It was a fast labour and I was a big baby, a great combination for my poor Mum. The story goes that later that day Dad hopped into the car to pop home for a few things and as he started the car a little ray of sunshine played on the radio, it became our song. I tried to listen to it whilst writing this blog but got a bit teary, no doubt you will have better luck xx

We are blessed to have a good Dad, he worked hard and was away a lot but he was most definitely there for us. He instilled in us the importance of hard work and that you reap what you sow. Dad has a wicked sense of humour and is a great story teller, you can't let a small thing like detail get in the way of a good story.

Dad built our confidence, he used to tell me I could have been a model, all the agencies wanted me but unfortunately he wouldn't let me; my school work and a normal childhood were more important. For years I believed him. It didn't matter that I was short, chubby and took to my teeth with my bare hands and a set of pliers, determined to cash in on the tooth fairy.

I have so many memories of following Dad around, his best helper and Chief Pass-Me. I learnt how to grow vegetables, that girls can do anything and that you can shock your father to the core by bringing up "curtain raising" at the dinner table.

Happy Fathers Day Dad, and thank you xxx


Mrs Roberts. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
bottom of page