top of page

Banana Bread

When you have mushy brown bananas the best thing to do is make banana bread! This is a super easy Australian Women’s Weekly recipe and can be found in their Retro Cookbook, I love this cookbook as it is full of yummy real everyday food and fun retro recipes as well, there is a Retro Baking cookbook which I really want to get my hands on now!

This bread will freeze really well, just slice and wrap in cling wrap or store in Tupperware. It doesn’t take long to defrost so is perfect for the lunchbox. I like to eat mine slightly warm with lashings of butter.

Ingredients: 90g unsalted butter, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup (220g) firmly packed brown sugar

2 eggs free-range

1 cup mashed bananas

1 cup (150g) plain flour

1 cup (150g) self-raising flour

Method:

Preheat oven to 180c/160c Fan Forced.

Grease 14cm x 21cm loaf pan and line base and long sides with baking paper, extending paper 5cm above long sides.

Beat butter, vanilla extract and sugar in a small bowl until light and fluffy.

Beat in eggs one at a time. Transfer to large bowl and stir in Banana, then sifted flours, in 2 batches.

Spread mixture into the pan.

Cover pan with pleated foil, and bake for 40 mins.

Uncover and bake for a further 30 mins. Test if ready by inserting a knife into the centre and it should come up clean.

Stand for 5 mins and cool on wire rack.

Notes:

I used a mini loaf pan this time, by doing this my cooking time was only 16 minutes and I didn’t have to cover with pleated foil. My pan is enamel coated so is non-stick, if you aren’t so lucky to have this amazing pan just rub with a little butter.

I also have a secret ingredient, so if you want to know what that is don't be shy, I'll happily share with you, if you ask :)


Mrs Roberts. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
bottom of page