top of page

Summer of Sport

This is going to be the Summer of Sport. I’m a lucky girl right? Except I’ve never been sporty, I was always the absolute last to be picked and often the team who ended up with me would rather be one player short than play with me and so I’d be offered to the other side. I’d roll my eyes as I was too sweet to give them the middle finger back then. I’d make my way down to the back of the oval where I’d sit making daisy chain crowns and necklaces; ignoring calls from the teacher to “look alive!” before the bell went freeing me to go to a class where my contributions were valued, not Maths of course, English maybe or Drama.

Don't feel sad, I've found sports I'm good at now, sports like Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and Wrestling. Being short and compact is a bonus and one I like to take advantage of. Now people yell out things like "use your weight" or "drop your hips" and I get to watch my partners face turn pretty shades of red and blue.

I saw my first Big Bash game a few weeks ago and it was pretty good. Not so good that I bought a team shirt, or started watching it on TV but enough that I could say I had fun. My poor Husband spent the entire 3 hours explaining what was happening, this was definitely worth his time as I could pull out my best “FOUR” and “SIX” hand movements when playing backyard cricket at the farm over Christmas.

The sponsors need to lift their game though, lots of advertising for Zooper Doopers but I couldn’t buy one anywhere! Whatever happened to those perky teenagers running around with cooler chests and a bumbag filled with gold coins?! BRING THEM BACK!

Husband loves sport and has so far introduced me to Soccer, NRL, Cricket and now BASEBALL! Whoo hoo! I'm going to my first game tonight and there had better be hot dogs or I'll be seriously disappointed.


Mrs Roberts. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
bottom of page