top of page

My Fangs

Oh my gosh! You guys! This is the worst! On the day of my surgery a darling old friend of mine told me that having her teeth out was worse than giving birth. I swear I nearly walked off into Myer never to return again. I didn’t, Husband assured me all would be fine and I went into surgery.

Surgery can be scary; I’ve had a few operations and been the waiting loved one a few times too. It was Husbands first time at waiting and seeing his face right before the anaesthetist took me in was a tad overwhelming, we want them there for everything, the good, the bad and especially the scary. Lucky for me I had Mary. Poor Mary, my lovely dental nurse APPARENTLY just as I was starting to go under she asked me about the North Brisbane real estate market, one of my favourite topics. Allegedly I was so passionate I just kept on talking right through the gas so they had to ramp it up a bit to get me to sleep. A few hours later I woke up talking about the same thing, exactly where I left off. Not a bad effort considering I was missing four teeth and a bit of my jaw and my head was strapped with ice packs.

Surgery was long, longer than expected; I was under for just over 2 hours. I had 3 vertical impactions and one horizontal impaction. I knew it wasn’t going to be easy as it took ages to find a surgeon willing to even do my surgery. They eventually got all my teeth out and Husband took me home.

I did get a little present though, how cute is this cat? Her name is Tabitha and she was waiting for me post surgery <3 She is hanging out with Simba, a beloved childhood toy who is over 20 years old and has been there for all my operations, he is still wearing one of my old admission bands around his neck.

First 24 hours were pretty good, I was thinking “Worse than child birth?” “OMG I am going to own that shit, easy peezy” and then the GA wore off, the local anaesthetic wore off and I discovered you can feel your pumping pulse in your jaw all the way to the back of your eye.

I have spent the last few days whining about the pain, drinking water and eating jelly. I was hopeful for a little incidental weight loss but I won’t be so lucky with all this soup, ice cream and jelly! The swelling sucks, as do the tears in the corner of my mouth, I can feel my stitches and just want to sleep all the time.

Husband is looking after me very well, I would get him to update you with our delicious recipes but since I can’t chew it isn’t anything too exciting, with the exception of his scrambled eggs - yum! Off to have a little sleep with my bag of frozen peas and to work on my squirrel impersonations...looking good!


Mrs Roberts. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
bottom of page