top of page

Green Thumbs

This weekend has been wonderful, no where to be, no rush, no appointments, just us and our home. We spent Saturday driving around looking at plants. As you do.

We started at our local Masters, determined to support the store whilst we can. Our Richlands store has helpful, educated staff and a clean and fresh store. Plus a plant sale! We found a large croton at 30% off and a beautiful dwarf orange tree for 50% off - BARGAIN! The croton is already in the front garden among the bromeliads but the orange has to wait a bit until we can get it a large feature pot.

We took the tourist drive out to Mount Crosby and found the succulent nursery that we kept saying we would stop at but never did. The nursery is excellent, the plants range from $2.95 to the fancy and rare POA plants. Be warned, you cannot just pop in. The owner is very chatty and knows about every plant. You cannot go for a quick look! Perfect for a lazy Saturday. We stocked up on the cheapies but splurged on a string of tears. I HAD to have it. Almost thirty and obsessed with plants. I was warned this would happen.

We finished up at Brookfield Garden Centre. I thought for a moment I was underdressed. I didn't have a large hat and I wasn't wearing a twin set or even linen - Mavis would be clutching her pearls at the sight of me! Some how I managed to not give a shit and went in. No one batted an eye, even without my twinset. Well until we found the windchimes and Husband sat down to meditate whilst I ran around setting off all the different windchimes. It was very soothing and very funny.

The nursery also boasts the Wild Canary cafe. The coffee was good and strong; we were too late for lunch so settled for cake and rocky road. In tradition we swapped halfway. Edible flowers are overrated but the cake was divine.

The gardens are beautiful and the staff are knowledable which is always a bonus! I adored the native bee hive and can see one in my own home, nestled up among the back garden.

I know farmers have lots of old wire, perhaps next time we are at the farm Husband can whip up a couple of these for me? Can't be that hard surely...


Mrs Roberts. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
bottom of page