top of page

New Job!

I start my new job this week, I am so freaking excited. I've been ready all week. Paperwork is done, new uniform is hanging in my wardrobe, laundered and ready to go. I've organised a Go Card and walked to the train station to time my trip. I've dotted the "i's" and crossed my "t's" and I'm ready.

New beginnings are always a scary mix of excitement and anticipation. I think we get comfortable after a while, comfortable in our own routine. It's good to push our boundaries, meet new people and try new things.

My new job is an excellent fit for me - retail and beauty. Two of my favourite things, if I can be bothered carrying a dozen overly decorated cupcakes on the train for my coworkers it will be three favourite things. The thought is there but we will see, public transport is stressful enough when you're not used to it and being late gives me anxiety. No doubt I'll be taking the early train for some time until I find my groove.

I'm looking forward to working in Fortitude Valley, a vibrant part of my city that I used to visit all the time. I love the different lifestyles and cultures, they way they merge and melt together to create something completely unique. I'm sure I'll be taking the later train quite often as I get lost exploring side streets and new shops and restaurants. On nights I cannot be bothered cooking I'll be taking home delicious food from China Town, nursing it carefully on the train in my Hello Kitty lunch bag.

I hope to make new friends and catch up more with old ones. I won't be stuck in traffic so Shovey will be getting long walks in the evening. I intend to push myself to be the best me. After all this is my year.

Do something brave this week and then tell me all about it! Ask for that raise, you know you're worth it and if you just thought "urgh not in my job" maybe start looking, there might be something better for you out there.


Mrs Roberts. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
bottom of page