top of page

A week in review.

It's been an interesting week, a big week full of realizations and reflection. As I creep closer to the big three-oh I find myself liking me a little bit more. I think I am at peace with myself and that is in turn allowing me to be kinder to myself.

I finished last week with a post work drink in the city with the beautiful Kirsten, a proper cocktail or two. I was finally one of those people who went into the city after work to have a drink and chat about the week just gone. It was very relaxing and fun, I'd forgotten how pretty our city was at night! We have decided to do it more often and next time we are ordering the cheese platter.

The following night I was out again - TWO nights out in one week! It was 23rd Birthday drinks for lovely Alison. I was very stressed about feeling and looking very old. I no longer have any shiny fitted dresses and I wore sensible heels as I was walking from the train. I got there and wouldn't you know it, I had a lovely time. Of course they were all young and beautiful but oh so sweet as well! Plus being the eldest I gave zero fucks so when we needed a table for dinner at a crowded trendy bar I got people to shove down so we could share too. I was even asked for ID! Sure, the security probably had to ask everyone but I was going to take the compliment.

On the walk back up the hill at 10:30pm, I couldn't help but feel quite fun and free and ridiculously grown up as younger people were stumbling in and out of bars. A drunk guy thought it would be funny to mock mug me but a stern telling off sent him sheepishly back to his group of friends. Why is that funny? I swear boys are getting stupider, thank goodness I'm older and don't have to deal with the constant dares and games for social media "likes".

I may have finished the night early but I had a Tupperware party the next day! Just call me Cinderella - fresh as a daisy but already thinking about my bed.

The work week started and Anxiety reared it's ugly head again. I panicked about stupid stuff like if I locked the door or would I get a park at the station? Stuff that wasn't even really important but it settled heavy on my chest and I had to spend the start of each day working through it. By the end of the week it was under control again. That's the thing with anxiety, you don't need a reason for a little panic to occur, I just try to push through and not let it ruin my day.

Husband is sick with a cold, thank goodness I now work in a pharmacy! This weekend has been a quite one at home. He did get two of my pictures up on the wall, a big deal as we STILL haven't started the plastering or the painting yet and we weren't going to hang things until the walls were done. My kitchen is looking a lot brighter now and that makes me happy!

I love this quote, every day Husband makes me laugh. Even when I'm annoyed or exhausted he can always make me smile. I had him hang this quote over the microwave as it is the last thing I see when I leave the house and it reminds me that no matter how irritated I am to cook dinner. Everyone always feels better after a nice homemade meal.

This canvas was a gift from Husband. I think it is a giant hint to make more patty cakes and that is meant to inspire me to decorate each cake with love and care. Although I have some sad looking bananas so tomorrow I think I'll whip up some banana bread.

I hope this week has been good to you. Remember to take time for yourself, you deserve it xx


Mrs Roberts. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
bottom of page