top of page

As seasons change.

I am hanging onto Summer with both hands! PLEASE DON'T LEAVE ME! I don't really like the cold, the days are shorter and gloomy, I started to feel a bit blue. Last winter I ended up Vitamin D deficient, this year I am aware of the risks and have maintained taking vitamins regularly.

Fortunately it is still quite warm in Brisbane. I am still able to swim on the weekends, even if the first dive under takes your breath away! I have been nagging at husband to get onto the roof to sort out the solar heating for me so I can hopefully swim past June this year.

Swimming earlier today made me feel really home sick. I couldn't help but think that if I had family down the road I wouldn't be bobbing around the pool all alone. I am jealous of the friendships others have with their family, the weekend commitments, coffee catch ups and the odd dinner.

To share a movie with my sisters we have to text each other the best one liners. We have a group chat on Facebook that to anyone else would be a confusing mess but to me it is like a conversation around the table. I write about my mundane life on this little blog in an attempt to share more, to feel more connected. I adore Brisbane but sometimes it feels so far away.

One day I'll have a family of my own, in some ways I know it will give me greater fulfilment - the Full Human Experience, but I am also painfully aware that it will make my family seem even further away. I won't be dropping the kids around to Mum's, they won't grow up with cousins and Aunties or Uncles. Grandparents will be special visitors a few times a year and the farm will be a magical place we all look forward to visiting.

The world keeps spinning, the seasons are constantly changing. One thing remains a constant, a reliable little boat in the big scary ocean. Husband and I. Our own little team of two, something I am eternally grateful for.


Mrs Roberts. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
bottom of page